MINUTES OF FULL FACULTY SENATE MEETING November 1, 2022

Professor of Art and Design Natalija Mijatovic, Chair of the Faculty Senate, called the Full Faculty meeting held in Old Union Hall to order at 11:46. She welcomed President Harvey G. Stenger and turned the meeting over to him.

President Stenger began his report to the Full Faculty meeting attendees. The presentation can be found at https://www.binghamton.edu/faculty-senate/documents-and-forms.html.

After no further discussion, the Full Faculty meeting was adjourned.

The first Faculty Senate meeting of the 2022-2023 academic year was called to order by Chair Mijatovic at 12:15 pm. Chair Mijatovic began by welcoming the new Faculty Senators and introducing the Faculty Senate officers; Prof. Aaron Beedle, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Faculty Senate Vice Chair; Prof. Jonathan Krasno, Political Science, Chair of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and Prof. Sara Reiter, School of Management, Faculty Senate Secretary.

Minutes from the May 10, 2022 meeting were approved.

Chair Mijatovic notified the body that Prof. Former Prof. James Clum, Mechanical Engineering, Prof. Emeritus Peter Cocozzella, Romance Languages, and Literatures, Prof. Daniel Fabricius, University Wind Symphony conductor, and Former Watson Dean Emeritus Charles "Roger" Westgate, Engineering and Applied Science have passed away. Chair Mijatovic spoke briefly about each and then asked for a moment of silence to remember our colleagues.

Faculty Senate meeting November 1, 2022 Page 2

Chair Mijatovic presented the proposed dissolution of the Department of Health Outcomes and Administrative Sciences. Prof. Aaron Beedle, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences provided a summary of the proposed dissolution and was available for questions.

After no further discussion, a motion was made and seconded to approve the dissolution of the Health Outcomes and Administrative Sciences department. The dissolution was approved with 49 in favor, no opposition, and no abstentions.

Chair Mijatovic presented the proposed addition of the School of the Arts within Harpur College. Harpur Dean Celia Klin provided a brief overview of the proposed addition. Dean Klin explained that the School of the Arts, within Harpur College, will include the five departments within the Arts and assume the affiliated programs. Dean Klin then discussed the benefits of the reorganization and plans for the future. Chair Mijatovic noted that the Faculty Senate Executive committee has approved this proposal with reservations. Prof. Jonathan Krasno, chair of FSEC provided a summary of the reservations, specifically on

Faculty Senate meeting November 1, 2022 Page 3

Mijatovic, Luiza Moreira, Richard Naslund, Aritha Nirmal, Titilayo Okoror, Julien Panetier, S.B. Park, Xingye Qiao, Jessie Reeder, Sara Reiter, Anton Schick, Bonggu