• The S

• Committee for the University Environment (CUE)

*Proposed addition (bold) to the composition of the Committee for the University Environment:* 

### APPENDIX TO FACULTY BYLAWS

Title A. Faculty Senate Committees

COMMITTEE FOR THE UNIVERSITY ENVIRONMENT (Joint)

Composition:

- 8 faculty members, 5 selected by the Faculty Senate and 3 selected by the Provost
- 3 students, 2 nominated by the Student Association (SA) and 1 by the Graduate Student Organization (GSO)
- Vice President for Administration or his/her designee

Provost, the Vice President for Research, all Deans, the Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School, the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, the Vice Provost for International Education, the Associate Vice President for Information Technology Services, and the Director of Continuing Education and Summer Programs.

2. To prepare confidential reports for distribution only to the administrator being evaluated; that administrator's immediate supervisor; and the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

### **Composition:**

The Evaluation Coordinating Committee (ECC) will consist of nine full-time Faculty Senate members chosen by the Committee on Committees and confirmed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, including one representative from each of the following units: the Decker School of Nursing, the School of Management, the School of Education, the College of Community and Public Affairs, the Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science, the Library, and three representatives from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, including one member from each of the following Divisions: Humanities, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. ECC members will serve one year terms renewable for the duration of their Faculty Senate terms.

In addition to explanation shown on the attached, Sara noted that the Faculty Senate Executive Committee felt that this charge should be added to the Bylaws appendix as it never did appear before. After no discussion, motion was approved by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstaining.

• Intercollegiate Athletics Committee (IAC)

# Proposed change to the charge of the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee:

# *Current (old) charge:*

to make recommendations and suggest policies to the Faculty Senate regarding the impact of intercollegiate athletics on academic standards and practices.

Proposed (new) charge:

to oversee procedures by which the Department of Athletics maintains NCAA, conference, and university standards for the academic pursuits of student athletes. This includes

- 1. developing guidelines for the integration of student athletes into university academic life;
- 2. evaluating procedures by which the Department of Athletics ensures compliance with NCAA academic requirements, promotes the academic success of student athletes and maintains university academic standards;
- 3. promoting initiatives that integrate Department of Athletics academic support programs with other campus resources, offices and programs;
- 4. making recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding these and other academic issues that impa

Prof. Frank Cardullo (Mechanical Engineering) notes that he has had considerable experience

# **Original Charge**:

- 1. in cases which are not matters of grievance of discipline under provisions of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, to consider all sides of issues involving professional conduct, and to seek a resolution or to recommend appropriate action to assure high standards of professional conduct;
- 2. to report annually on the number of issues raised, the nature of the issues raised, and the procedures used in recommending resolution of redress.

After no discussion, this motion was approved by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions.

There was a motion and voice vote to adjourn at 1:00 p.m.

- Present: Bat-Ami Bar On, Christopher Bishop, Herbert Bix, Anne Brady, Frank Cardullo, Jill Dixon, Mark Fowler, Donette Francis, Monika Furch, Leslie Gates, Ross Geoghegan, Peter Gerhardstein, J. David Hacker, Scott Henkel, Sharon Holmes, Clifford Kern, Sonja Kim, Kelly Kinney, Peter Knuepfer, Richard Lee, Michael Lewis, Marcin Mazur, Randall McGuire, Luiza Moreira, Rosmarie Morewedge, Nagendra Nagarur, H. Richard Naslund, Thomas O'Connor, Carolyn Pierce, Solomon Polachek, Curt Pueschel, Sara Reiter, Erin Rushton, Thomas Sinclair, Timothy Singler, Gale Spencer, Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman, Susan Strehle, Lisa Tessman, Gary Truce, Karl Wilson, Lijun Yin
- Excused: Karen Bromley, Ariana Gerstein, Norah Henry, Douglas Holmes, Alistair Lees, C. Peter Magrath, Sarah Maximiek, Karen Salvage, Jim Stark
- Absent: Josephine Allen, Laura Anderson, Kimberly Avery, Anne Bailey, Karen Barzman, George Catalano, Andy Cavagnetto, Lubna Chaudry, Christof Grewer, Albrecht Inhoff, Kimberly Jaussi, Jonathan Karp, David Klotzkin, Kenneth Kurtz, R. Kevin Lacey, Ricardo Laremont, Dale Madison, Michael McDonald, Jean-Pierre Mileur, Daniel Rabinowitz, Karin Sauer, Paul Schleuse, Pamela Smart, Srinivasa Venugopalan, Leigh Ann Wheeler, Nan Zhou, Weixing Zhu