## MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING April 27, 2010

The fourth Faculty Senate meeting of the 2009-2010 academic year was called to order by Prof. Sara Reiter (School of Management and Chair, Faculty Senate) at 11:55 a.m. in UU Mandela Room.

- 1. <u>Minutes</u>. A motion was made to approve the minutes of the March 16, 2010 meeting as submitted. On voice vote, the motion was approved.
- 2. <u>Announcements/Questions</u>. a) Presentation by Dr. Liz Droz, Dean of Students, on dealing with disruptive student situations. Prof. Reiter explained that there have been many inquiries about what is being done in light of the tragedy that occurred on campus at the end of last semester. Dr. Droz introduced Matthew Rossie, Investigator with the University Policy, who often accompanies her to such presentations. She explained that a committee was created to deal with students who have come to the attention of the police and others. Often they are asked about obstructive behavior in the classroom setting. The faculty right to ask an individual to leave a class is emphasized. The committee can intervene on behalf of faculty members if necessary. Other issues considered are inappropriate behavior in on line courses, disturbing content in written papers, email, etc. Mr. Rossie added that sometimes there is confusion about what happens after the initial call and subsequent response. Dr. Droz also referred to another newly formed committee, the Workplace Violence Prevention Advisory Committee that conducts site visits and workplace assessment.

Prof. Ross Geoghegan (Mathematical Sciences) said that often disruptive behavior takes place in the classrooms of graduate teaching assistants and suggested that safety information be made available at orientation for new graduate assistants. Dr. Droz agreed and said that plans are underway. There also has been contact with the Graduate Student Organization. In addition, there is discussion about expanding course syllabus to include statements about safety and proper behavior. Mr. Rossie said that safety of individuals should be considered when planning office space and furniture placement.

b) Obituary Notices. Prof. Reiter read a list of former faculty who haT1 0 d 379.03 Fse eE i0ITm()-:(ou)15(t)-3(y

Prof. Susan Strehle (English) praised the committee for its work in framing recommendations that are non-controversial while moving the issues forward. She urged support for the proposal.

Prof. Ross Geoghegan (Mathematical Sciences) questioned what the Senate was being asked to do since no motion was listed in the agenda. Prof. Knuepfer moved to table the matter until clarification could be made. By a show of hands, the motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 1 p.m.

Present: Herbert Bix, Katharine Bouman, Louis Braiotta, Zu-Yan Chen, Heather DeHaan, Randy Friedman, Susannah Gal, Ross Geoghegan, J. David Hacker, Norah Henry, Douglas Holmes, Sharon Holmes, Kelly Kinney, Peter Knuepfer, Karen Kozlowski, Richard Lee, Michael Lewis, Patrick Madden, Sarah Maximiek, Marcin Mazur, Roy McGrann, Randall McGuire, Sandra Michael, Rosmarie Morewedge, Nagendra Nagarur, Haim Ofek, Ravi Palat, Qinru Qiu, Sara Reiter, Paul Schleuse, Thomas Sinclair, Gale Spencer, Susan Strehle, Gary Truce, Srinivasa Venugopalan, M. Stanley Whittingham, Kevin Wright, Lisa Yun, Kimberly Avery, Daniel Rabinowitz

Excused: A. Serdar Atav, Karen Bromley, Andy Cavagnetto, John Fillo, Mark Fowler, Scott Henkel, Wayne Jones, R. Kevin Lacey, Leann Lesperance, Luiza Moreira, Mary Ann Swain, Susan Lewis

Absent: Josephine Allen, Karen Barzman, Benjamin Brewster, David Davies, Lois DeFleur, Shelley Dionne, Ariana Gerstein, Joseph Graney, Albrecht Inhoff, Angelique Jenks-Brown, Jonathan Karp, Clifford Kern, Kenneth Kurtz, Ricardo Laremont, J. Koji Lum, Michael McDonald, Steven Scalet, Antonio Sobejano-Moran, Jim Stark, Steven Tammariello